Writing/Opinion: TX Frightmare and Conventions

So, I should be writing or editing or doing something productive, but instead I’m doing a blog post.

“What about,” you ask?

“That’s a good question,” I reply.

“Well, considering you were supposed to do one at the beginning of April and didn’t, it’s at least valid.”

“True enough.”

“Well? Get on with it…”

Yeah, yeah. This isn’t the blog post I was going to put up back then (that one is only half written, actually, and involves writer’s groups). This post is about Texas Frightmare and conventions, so it’s partially on topic when it comes to writing.

It’ll be fairly brief, I hope. I don’t have a lot to say on the matter other than I had an excellent time at TX Frightmare. The publisher, Post Mortem Press, sold a ton of books (we even sold out of Necromancers), I drank myself almost to oblivion Saturday night, and spent four of my vacation days in a car. It’s a pretty long drive from Ohio to Texas (even with a layover in The Lou to drop off a kid with my parents).

I met some cool folks (new friends, horror fans, celebrities), watched a very early screening of Neil Jordan’s vamp flick Byzantium (I think it comes out end of June), and spent way too much fucking money (hotel breakfast buffet was $14.00 if that’s an indication).

As far as conventions go, while I find it awesome to “see” celebrities, I’m not the kind of person who goes up and pays for the picture and autograph. Don’t think I’m knocking people who do (I’m not), it’s just not my bag. That being said, I don’t shy away from conversing with them when the opportunity presents itself and, for me, relating to them on that personal level, that “Hey, how you doing? Good convention so far?” playing field is the best.

Where is all this leading?

Well, it’s really for the other small press authors, I guess. I think it’s important to realize that while these conventions are mostly monetary vampires that will drain a bank account faster than Dracula eating Mina (picture that any way you want), it’s vital to show your face. It’s necessary to be there. Not at all of them, of course, but as many as we’re able. It’s another way to build (dare I say it?) a fan base for your work. Isn’t the key to investment diversity? So why shouldn’t diversity be the key to investing in yourself as well?

I haven’t had much luck w/social media or this damned blog (though I appreciate all of you who do read it), but hopefully continuing this mixed bag of everything will pay off in the end?

Authors, editors, others… what say you?

2 responses to “Writing/Opinion: TX Frightmare and Conventions

  1. It was certainly a fun ride. But it did take a lot out of me.

    • Same here. It’s awesome while it’s going on, but nothing beats getting back home. Leave some time betwixt for family, fun, and writing and do it all over again. It’s kind of like the whole musician album/tour thing.

Leave a Reply

