THE NEXT BIG THING Blog Tour

It seems I got tagged by the illustrious Brady Allen on The Next Big Thing blog tour. We’re supposed to answer questions about our current work in progress (which I’ll try to do), but before I do: if you haven’t, you need to check out Brady’s blog (link above) and his short story collection, Back Roads and Frontal Lobes. A lot of guys are ass men or tit men, but I’m more of a title man.

And Brady’s is pretty damn cool.

The other part of this Next Big Thing is tagging other writers worth mentioning. I think most of the writers I know have already been hit on (and no, I have no idea how the lines have been working) so those lucky few tagged by me are Matthew E. Morgan and Craig Hallam. If you’ve done it, then ignore it; if you don’t want to do it, ignore it. Or, pay it forward to someone else you know and consider them de facto tagged by me.

I don’t know if they’ll do this or not, but you should check them out anyway.

I have a few current WIPs, so I’ll just focus on one of them. And now, on to the questions!

WHAT IS THE WORKING TITLE OF YOUR BOOK?

Dogmen

WHERE DID THE IDEA COME FROM FOR THE BOOK?

Everywhere, really. I’m a genre fiction fan and this is my mash-up of post-apocalyptic, monster vs human, survival of the fittest story. One of my favorite creatures is the werewolf and so I’m spinning that archetype off into a crazy place. So the idea was born of me constantly thinking of good werewolf stuff to write and never writing it down because it’s a super popular archetype.

WHAT GENRE DOES YOUR BOOK FALL UNDER?

Science fiction, horror, fantasy.

WHICH ACTORS WOULD YOU CHOOSE TO PLAY YOUR CHARACTERS IN A MOVIE RENDITION?

Actors. Hmm. A tough call. Now that Brad Pitt is doing zombie flicks, maybe we can get him? Some actors that really impress me and would be cool to see: Michael Parks, Eric Bana, Jeremy Renner, Timothy Olyphant, Laurie Holden, Molly Quinn, Melissa George. But really, I think it can be any actor in any role, so long as they believe in the material and have a modicum of talent.

WHAT IS THE ONE SENTENCE SYNOPSIS OF YOUR BOOK?

The future of the United States is hidden in a relic from an almost forgotten past and it’s up to Jake Murdock to find it. (I hate these things.)

WILL YOUR BOOK BE SELF-PUBLISHED OR REPRESENTED BY AN AGENCY?

It will not be self-published and I’m not represented by anyone but myself and my work. I don’t know if I’ll seek representation (now or ever), but I’m certain to submit the novel to publishers, one way or the other.

HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU TO WRITE THE FIRST DRAFT OF YOUR MANUSCRIPT?

Since it’s not done yet, I have no definitive answer. I’ve been working on it now for a couple weeks, fleshing out the scenes, characters, and story arcs. Hopeful a first draft will be done early 2013.

WHAT OTHER BOOKS WOULD YOU COMPARE THIS STORY TO WITHIN YOUR GENRE?

I’m not sure, really. I don’t know if any mix all the same elements I’m trying. Instead, I’ll direct you to any number of post-apocalyptic books/stories such as Alas, Babylon, Rot & Ruin, I am Legend, Swan Song, and even such movies as Stakeland or Land of the Dead.

WHO OR WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO WRITE THIS BOOK?

Along with the above answer about where the idea came from, I feel most werewolf tales now are either angsty, buff-chested monstrosities, urban fantasy bodice rippers (thanks, Brad!), or straight tooth and claw terrors. There are exceptions (always are) and those are the gems of this archetype and hopefully I can find a spot for some readers in there with this book. If you’re curious, you can check out my stories Dominance and What’s Left Behind. Both of these touch on characters, items, and events that lead to the novel or are in the novel.

WHAT ELSE ABOUT THIS BOOK MIGHT PIQUE THE READER’S INTEREST?

There’ll be blood, guts, glory, love, death, and maybe some rebirth. Oh, and fur. Lots and lots of fur.

Comments are closed.