I’m trying to be diligent, I swear…

It’s been a very long time. I’m horrible at keeping up this website. I need to do better. They (they being other writers and marketing folk) say a semi-professional writer needs a strong web presence. I agree and I post frequently on my Facebook page and my Twitter account, but let’s face it… no one really follows me on Twitter (yet, though I did have a fan tweet to me… once) and my Facebook page is actually personal and other than acquaintances, family, and other writers, no one is there. I’m in the process of making one of those damn “pages,” but I run into the same problem with that as I do with this website.

Time.

I spend as much time writing as possible. That’s done in between reading and editing for Title Goes Here: and Misanthrope Press. Plus raising two kids, trying to keep my wife interested in being married to me, hang out with the very minimal amount of friends I do have, adds up to very, very little actual time to write, much less do things like this. I’ve tried to talk my wife into being my web-bitch, but so far it’s been an uphill battle.

Here I am, though, and I’ve updated a few things.

You’ll notice a purchase link to Dark Doorways has been added to the “Sewer Rats” page. If you remember, it was selected to part of Post Mortem Press’s best of.

I’ve also added a link to Pill Hill Press’s Daily Frights 2012. My flash piece, “A Vision in Red” was included in that anthology. There are 366 stories in the book. That’s one for every day of the year. Pick up a copy and enjoy! (Note: I couldn’t get the cover image to load. I’ll try again later, but all the text stuff is there.)

On the publishing front, one of my personal favorite stories, “Bless You” was accepted by West Pigeon Press for publication in their upcoming anthology. I believe it’s slated for release in the next few months. As per my usual, once I have more details I’ll share them. Probably on Twitter and Facebook, but eventually they’ll make it here, too. I promise.

I’ve got one story out in the ether waiting on a response.

I suppose I should mention the upcoming conventions. I’m planning on being at MARCon on Saturday the 7th. I’m not doing any panels, just hanging out. I do believe the good people of Post Mortem Press will be there selling books, but other than that, I don’t have any details.

I’ll also be at Contamination in St. Louis the weekend of June 15th. My intention there is to sign books with Post Mortem. Two weekends after that (June 29th), I’ll be at the Fright Night Film Fest in Lexington, Kentucky. Again, my intention is to sign books and what not.

The weekend of July 27th, I’ll be attending Confluence in Pittsburgh. I signed up for panels and things, but I don’t have any details yet since it’s still a bit of time to that one.

I’ll keep everything posted and hopefully in a timely manner. I like to meet people who’ve read or want to read what I’ve written, so I figure I have to get over this anti-promotion thing I’ve got.

Now, some announcements!

Misanthrope Press just released its third anthology: A Rustle of Dark Leaves: Tales from the Shadows of the Forest. It’s edited by Inanna Gabriel and has 15 kick-ass stories in it. You can pick up copies from Amazon.com, the MP Bookstore, or an eBook version here!

During my convention cycles, I’ve met a lot of great, great people. Their talent is only exceeded by their genuine kindness in helping to promote indie artists (of all ilks) and it pleases me to let everyone know that Kyle Dickerson’s new novel, “Ten Frames at the Galaxy Bowl” is coming next week. Order a copy from the publisher, Post Mortem Press.

At HorrorHound Columbus, I bought a Lo Pan painting from the hugely talented Lydia Burris. It’s going on the wall in my office for inspiration. Not only because of Lydia, but John Carpenter as well. Great movie.

That’s about it.

Chow, as I like to say.

Ha. Ha.

 

Comments are closed.